AEW Big Bu$iness

on

One of the biggest AEW shows took place this past Wednesday in Boston at TD Garden! When AEW announced the show and when tickets dropped in February, I was waiting in that online queue for the presale tickets. Rumors were buzzing that THEE Mercedes Monè was going to make her debut at this event. She is the hometown hero and it would only be right and that was my #1 reason. I have always been a huge fan of hers since her WWE run so my support still rides no matter the company. Days leading up the event, the internet could not stop buzzing and rumors started to seem like facts. I was pumped!

Fast forward to the night of the big event. I had to get officially ready; green and money signs were the theme. I had my nails match and a green sweat suit for the occasion. I arrived to TD Garden roughly 30 minutes before the show began and was met by roaring fans with their Mercedes signs and merch. Love the dedicated wrestling fans! Walking to my seat I saw how wrapped the merch line was so I made a mental note to run there during the first match. I really wanted the “AEW Big Bu$iness I was there” shirt. I was leaving there with something!

Once the show began, we were met by THE CEO – MERCEDES MONÉ! I love how they did not keep us fans waiting for the entire show; start the show with a bang and that’s how you keep our energy up! She came out looking amazing and we chanted down. We properly welcomed our girl home! She executed her promo tremendously; you felt all the emotions. Reminding us of her childhood dreams, getting into training and working so hard to get here. And of course she mentioned the late great Eddie Guerrero who is her inspiration. You know an Eddie shoutout gets me in my feels! I wish he was here to see the legacy he left behind he inspired so many. There is so much I can quote but the one thing that really resonated is “if I can do it. You can do it too”. Always a reminder to go after your dreams. I love how she concluded the promo with acknowledging all of the accolades she’s accomplished. She mentioned leading the Women’s revolution which is one of many things she has done. She is one the greats and it is exciting to see her back in the ring to make more history. This is huge. This was an amazing way to kick off Big Bu$iness! WELCOME HOME Mercedes!

Quickly after, I hustled over to the merch line to scout out the merch. I am so happy I waited because the merch stand just put up the BO$$TON Mercedes’ shirts. I snatched those up so quick and went back to my seat. I caught a little of the Samoa Joe Vs. Wardlow match; if I knew they the match next I would have waited but I did not want to take any chances. 2nd match was The Elite Vs. Eddie Kingston, PAC and Penta. I enjoyed that match; I have been doing my homework on Okada especially more when he was announced as a free agent. I have been studying him so watching him live was cool. The pace of the match was steady with great exchanges between all the wrestlers. It ended with Eddie taking a low blow then getting hit the brutal Rainmaker ending with a a 1,2,3. Okada holding up the Continental championship after the victory has me excited for this feud.

Will Ospreay came out and delivered an intense promo about his upcoming match against Bryan Danielson. It was great and really had you at the edge of your seat. They are set to face each other at the AEW Dynasty PPV next month. These two have never stepped in a ring together so this will be a spectacle.

Next up was Darby Allin Vs. Jay White. Darby coming out heavily bandaged was a stinging reminder of that recent crazy spot he did off the ladder. The pace of the match was good and had a few crazy spots (of course!). Darby was taking a beating and as he was slowly getting his momentum back, that came to a halt. He attempted to a coffin drop from the top rope to the outside. His bandaged back took a swift hit off the apron then he took a hard bounce on the outside. Seeing him bounce like a basketball was brutal. I do not know how he does it, and I am certainly not going to ask! He managed to get back into the ring but was instantly hit with Jay’s finisher and lost.

Next up was Hook and Chris Jericho vs. Gates of Agony. I am so in awe with how Gates of Agony came out in their traditional wear from their homelands. What beautiful representation! The match was a bit short but it was a good exchange between the two teams. I really thought GOA were going to take the win, but I was surprised Hook won by submission over Kaun. My take: Kaun tapping did not make any sense. A pin okay, but submission? Was not feeling that.

Now for the last match, we had the women main eventing Willow Nightingale vs. Riho! I think I found out midway through the show and was excited. I was upset there was only one women’s match but at least they ended the show. Mercedes’ impact c’mon now already shifting things! The match was great; Riho and Willow mixed it up so well with each other. Willow is such a powerhouse and dominates but Riho got in great offense. 2 of my favorite Riho offense moments: the 619 homage and the northern lights suplex. That suplex was impressive! Though she lost she had a proper comeback and got her hit in. While Willow was celebrating her win, Julia Hart and Skye Blue attacked Willow. And guess who came to the rescue?! THE CEO! Coming down the ramp she decked Skye and then Julia ate the finisher in the middle of the ring. Monè raised Willow’s hand and she got to take in the moment. Started and ended the show, this is going to be amazing for the women’s division. She is here to shake things up and I am excited to see who her first feud will be with. I have so many women I can think of but my top 3 are: Athena, Kris, and Shida. The magic that will be made! Big Bu$iness had a good match card, but the buzz and hype of Mercedes really made this event. AEW did their big one with this signing and it is only up from here. As I say, it is a great time to be a wrestling fan. There are so many thriving promotions where we see a lot of new faces making their names known as well as popular stars switching between promotions. All in all, wrestling is thriving. Get in where you fit in it is all amazing!

Leave a comment