Kidney Biopsy

on

Yesterday was the long awaited kidney biopsy procedure. This has been a lengthy process dating back to November when I went to the ER with back pain and to later find out my kidney was inflamed. It has been a lot of testing without better results so the biopsy is the final answer.

What is a kidney biopsy? it is a procedure to remove a small piece of kidney tissue that can be examined under a microscope for signs of damage or disease. There are many reasons as to why a biopsy should be done. In my case there was inflammation shown from the ER visit and there were numerous urine tests that showed blood and protein present. I finally was able to get this biopsy done once I had the iron infusion.

The night before my procedure, I had packed my hospital bag and made sure I did not eat after midnight. The morning of, I woke up so hungry and ready for this to be over so I can eat. My procedure started at 11:30am but was told to arrive at 10:30am. Check-in was seamless and I was brought to the room shortly after I arrived. I changed into a gown then got my blood work and vitals done. The nurse was really nice and emphasized that after this procedure I cannot lift more than 10 pounds and to refrain from physical activity for at least a week. I went “wow!” My mother saw my face and tells the nurse “she is shocked because she does wrestling.” The nurse goes “that is so cool, but no do no go to wrestling. You do not want to cause any bleeding or injury to the spot.”. She explained how it happened to someone and they had to come back after hemorrhaging. No mam, I will be kicking my feet up relaxing.

The resident came shortly after and explained the procedure: the risks, sedation and the aftercare. She explained how the biopsy should take 45 minutes and that I would have to stay for about 3 hours to ensure everything is okay. That took me by surprise but luckily I packed my hospital bag with all my essentials to keep me occupied.

The RN came and wheeled me off to the ultrasound room. There were a handful of staff in the room that were there to assist. Even my nephrologist’s resident was there and she came over to me. Though it was a lot of people, I was relieved. I had to verify who I was one more time before we began. First step is the ultrasound; this is how they examine the kidneys and determine which one they will administer the biopsy on.I was hoping they would do the left since that was the one that gave me issues in November. They said they wanted to do the left and started sedating me. I felt a little woozy but I was not out of it. They also plugged me to an oxygen machine just in case. I just made sure to stay calm and to relax.

The procedure was a breeze; I did not feel a thing. The RN goes “we are done” and I am like “that’s it?”. I have a very low pain tolerance so for me to not feel a thing was crazy. I got wheeled back to my room and had a sandwich, ginger ale and water waiting for me. I never been so happy to eat. Over 12 hours of no eating and drinking is torture. My mom ended up getting me food too from the cafe and that hit the spot. We hung out for about 2 hours before the nurse stopped in to check my bandage and said I was safe to go home. I hope the biopsy can now answer the questions we have been asking for so long. I pray that Lupus has not progressed to my kidneys. All I can do now is wait until my next appointment with my nephrologist but I am so thankful both my nephrologist and rheumatologist were able to get me in for a biopsy. Doctors who are proactive are life saving. I will keep you all posted, until next time!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I hope everything goes well for you and that the inflammation decreases some. Best wishes

    Like

    1. Munah says:

      Thank you so much for the well wishes!

      Like

Leave a comment